Item 4.2

Central Sydney Planning Committee - Election of Councillors

File No: S062388

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

The Central Sydney Planning Committee (CSPC) is constituted by the City of Sydney Act 1988 (the Act).

Section 34(1) of the Act provides that the Committee shall consist of seven members:

- (a) the Lord Mayor of Sydney;
- (b) two councillors of the City of Sydney elected by the City Council; and
- (c) four persons (two of whom are senior State government employees and two of whom are not State or local government employees) appointed by the Minister administering Part 4 of the Planning Act, each having expertise in at least one of architecture, building, civic design, construction, engineering, transport, tourism, the arts, planning or heritage.

The persons currently appointed by the Minister pursuant to clause (c) as members and alternate members are Ms Abbie Galvin, Mr Brett Whitworth, Mr Dick Persson AM, Mr Richard Horne, Ms Olivia Hyde, Mr David Gainsford, Mr Julian Frecklington and Mr Bruce James.

Previously, the Council has chosen to hold a separate election for each of the two Councilelected members; the elections were by open, exhaustive voting (that is, by a show of hands or similar means for candidates duly nominated).

At the Council meeting of 21 September 2020, Council elected Councillors Philip Thalis and Jess Scully to the two positions on the Central Sydney Planning Committee, effective immediately until the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council.

The Act provides that Council may appoint an alternate for each of the elected members. At the Council meeting of 21 September 2020, Council appointed Councillor Linda Scott as alternate to Councillor Thalis and Councillor Robert Kok as alternate to Councillor Scully until the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council.

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) Council elect two Councillors to be members of the Central Sydney Planning Committee commencing immediately following the election and ending on 30 September 2022;
- (B) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting;
- (C) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith; and
- (D) Council appoint alternates for each member elected.

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer